Santa Petrona Pork Chops

Leave a comment
Pork Chops, Pork Recipes

 

Ingredients

Ingredients

When I was at Transcend Coffee counter, I was thinking this coffee has such a nice mild but distinct flavor it would make  a great ingredient for another recipe. Perhaps pork I thought. So I was given a small sample and this is the recipe I made with these flavorful beans. It made a very crispy tasty crust with the help of my precrushed Kellogs Corn Flakes which also makes them Gluten Free. The pork chops were left moist and extremely tender. Alberta Pork is what I used for the chops, nice thick ones. This is a very easy recipe and I love using the a zipper lock bag to not ony toss the ingredients around in but also to coat the pork chops as you can press the coating into the meat. Oh and don’t worry the coffee won’t keep you up if you have a late dinner :-)!

Ingredients:

  • Four nice sized pork chops
  • ! cup of precrushed corn flakes
  • 1 tbsp of cornstarch
  • 4 tbsp. Santa Petrona Transcent coffee beans ground fine
  • 1 tbsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp. “Dandy Joe’s” Dandelion powder or parsley
  • 2 tsp. sea salt (fine)
  • 2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp black crushed peppercorns
  • One Zipperlock bag
  • Two Grilling Stones 

    On the Grilling Stones

    On the Grilling Stones

 

Place all the dry ingredients in the bag and shake it up so it’s well mixed. Now place one chop at a time into the bag and press the coating into the chop. Shake it off in the bag and place d\chop onto a platter. Continue until all chops are coated evenly. Now place them in the fridge for 15 minutes while you go out and preheat your Grilling Stones.

I heated my Grilling Stones up to 375 to 400 degrees as these are thick chops and I want the coating to get crispy while allowing the pork to cook just enough to be safe. Always use a thermometer. With this coating they stay extremely moist.

Place each chop down on the preheated soapstone Grilling Stones, close the lid of the BBQ and allow them to grill for about 6-8 minutes, (of course this will depend on how thick yours are).

Turn after the one side is nice and crispy. You can turn off your grill now or move the coals aside. Close the lid and allow them to cook for another 6 – 8 minutes, now test with the thermometer. I have attached a simple temp recommendations sheet in the Blog that you can keep as a reference for the temperatures meat needs to be in order to be consumed safely. Enjoy this crispy and delicious pork recipe! Cheers to delicious Grilling and Chilling!

 

 

 

 

Posted by

I'm a lover of grilling, wife to an awesome man, mom, to five amazing children, three human, two non human (puppies), Nan of two extremely sweet grandkids and some cool fish. I had my first business at the age of nine. My first "Official business" at the age of 21 in a Saskatchewan market. The youngest President of the Chamber of Commerce in our community, my love of business grew. I've worked for small business and large conglomerates since moving to Edmonton, yet my favorite is certainly this: introducing people to using soapstone for grilling and chilling. It has such incredible properties including being bacterial resistant, heating and chilling quickly, searing food to enhance their amazing flavors, easy to clean food safe and used by our ancestors, it's almost like reversing time. Our family handcrafts wonderful soapstone grilling and chilling products for everyone to enjoy healthy grilling and chilling.

Leave a comment